At the recent Annual General Meeting the 2020-2021 AVAA Board was elected following a vote from those present along with a number of proxy votes.

The votes at the AGM were for seven board member positions, with the option of up to two additional directors appointed by the Board as Specialist Directors at the first AVAA board meeting.

At the AGM the following Board members were re-elected (in alphabetical order):

Geoff Eaton, David Jeffs, John Leeson, Jane Raffan, Phillip Thomas and Tim Slattery. New board member Caroline Tickner was also elected at the AGM.

At the first board meeting the newly formed AVAA Board appointed Peter Messer to the board as Specialist Director.

The 2020-2021 board encompasses a variety of specialist areas, membership types and geographic representation.

Welcome back to the returning AVAA members and a warm welcome to new members Caroline Tickner and Peter Messer.

The AVAA Board re-elected Tim Slattery into the role of President and Jane Raffan into the role of Vice President. John Leeson was newly appointed as Treasurer.

Thank you to Phillip Thomas for his service as Treasurer following completion of the maximum tenure in an office bearing position.

More details on each of our new Board Members can be found here.
We will be profiling our board members in detail over the coming months to get to know them all more, and gain insight into their desire to be part of the AVAA Board.

On behalf of the AVAA Board I would like to thank retired AVAA Board members John Matthews and Sam Hunter for their service to the board and the industry. It was a pleasure to work alongside you over the past few years.

I am very excited about the upcoming 12 months, and would like to thank the previous Board and the new Board for their willingness to contribute to the future of the AVAA.

Emma Barnes,